No surprises: SWFL congressmen vote against impeachment

12-18-19 Pelosi at daisHouse Speaker Rep. Nancy Pelosi at the dais during the vote on the second article of impeachment.

Dec. 18, 2019 by David Silverberg

Southwest Florida’s Republican members of Congress: Reps. Francis Rooney (R-19-Fla.), Greg Steube (R-17-Fla.) and Mario Diaz-Balart (R-25-Fla.), all voted against impeaching President Donald Trump tonight.

The first article of impeachment, abuse of power, passed the US House of representatives by a vote of 230 to 197 along a largely party-line vote.

The second article, obstruction of Congress, passed by a vote of 229 to 198.

House Speaker Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-12-Calif.) stated in a news conference following the vote that “we’ll see what happens” before naming impeachment managers and sending the articles of impeachment to the Senate. She stated that she wanted to know more about how the Senate intends to conduct a trial.

Liberty lives in light

©2019 by David Silverberg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s